My Little Gypsy

Standard

Last week, when I started “O’s” new wardrobe, her daddy made a request.  He asked that I make her a little gypsy outfit.  A chemise dress was already in the planning stages and with a tiny bit of tweaking and the addition of a pair of pants, it became the perfect Little Gypsy Duo.

Little Gypsy tunic and pants

Little Gypsy Duo: tunic and pants

Fabricated from a cotton sarong I haven’t used in several years, this outfit was easy-peasy from start to finish.  I revisited my pajama pants pattern yet again, but this time I added two inches width to either leg.  The pants, complete with elastic ankle cuffs and waistband, flew together in less than a half hour.  The tunic took a bit longer, but not much and was drafted using the method outlined in Donald H. Mc Cunn’s How to Make Sewing Patterns.    For coverage sake, the main body of the tunic is a double layer, but instead of an over and underskirt  I handled the layers of fabric as one with the exception of hemming.  Although the ensemble is darling as is, I intend to add a contrasting vest in the near future.

My little gypsy, enjoying her daddy's day off.

The little gypsy, enjoying her daddy’s day off.

 

2 thoughts on “My Little Gypsy

Leave a Reply

